Permissions on tasks and events allow you to fine-tune who on your team can see what, edit, work ...etc. It is a powerful tool that event allows you to bring on board customers and give them a live view on where their project stand and allow them to exchange with the team.

In the Settings > Permissions page or on tasks and events in the Timeline view, you can define permissions.

When a task or event or group of task (project) has no specified permissions, it will inherit permissions from the "Base permissions" that you find in the settings.

Permissions allow you to define 4 specific roles and define which team embers can do and see what.

Roles

The 4 different roles are the following:

  • Owners
    Owners have all the permissions including managing permissions and deleting/duplicating the task/event/group the current permission is set on. Workspace administrators always have this role anywhere.
  • Managers
    Managers have all the permissions except managing permissions and deleting/duplicating the task/event/group the current permission is set on. Owners can't be defined as Managers as their role already allows these permissions.
  • Workers
    Workers represent users that can be assigned on tasks (either automatically predicted or forced). They can modify the status, efforts, time worked, descriptions, add files, comment and follow/unfollow tasks. Be aware that even if a user is defined as an owner or manager, he isn't automatically a worker, meaning that he will be able to see and modify tasks but not be assigned to them.
  • Viewers
    Viewers can only see tasks, add files, comment and follow/unfollow tasks. Owners, Managers and Workers can't be defined as Viewers as their role already allows these permissions. This is the ideal role to give to your customers or partners and have them have a view of their projects for example.

Define specific permissions for a project or task

When you right-click a task or group of task (project) on the Timeline view you will have a "Permissions" option.

When permissions are coming from the base permissions or a higher level in the hierarchy, planless will indicate to you from where the permissions come from and allow you to "Define other permissions".

Click the button and change the permissions as you like.

When doing so on a group of tasks (that has sub levels) you will get 2 options at the bottom of the screen:

  • Apply permissions to all children of this task that have same original permissions?
    If this is checked, all tasks and events on sub levels that had the same permissions before, will be then inheriting from this new permission setup.
  • Apply permissions to all children even with different original permissions?
    If this is checked, all tasks and events on sub levels whatever the previous permissions where, will be then inheriting from this new permission setup.

Revert to parent level permissions

When specific permissions have been defined on a task, event or group of tasks (project) you can always revert to the parent permissions by clicking the button of the same name.

Did this answer your question?